Meeting Strangers

I’ve recently decided to take my independence and freedom back and go travelling. 

Whilst travelling you meet a lot of new new people. This has been good for me and let me remember that strangers are very rarely monsters. 

However there have been a few comments that struck a chord and reminded me of what happened.

Firstly talking to a man who said he believed that the majority of assault victims cry wolf for attention or to relieve themselves of the label ‘Slut’.

And secondly a lovely man who told me of a time he felt uncomfortable when a friend leant in to kiss him. He told me that he ‘froze’. He said he could understand the stories of assault victims who felt helpless or like they couldn’t get away. 

Neither of these men knew my story but it showed me the variety of views people have.

Leave a Reply

